The Parochial Church Council (PCC)

The Parochial Church Council, or PCC, is an executive committee of the parish with powers and duties defined by Canon Law (church regulations) and by certain Acts of Parliament. It has the responsibility of co-operating with the vicar, in promoting the whole mission of the church, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical.

Formally, the PCC is responsible for the financial affairs of the church and the care and maintenance of the church fabric and its contents. Although the PCC has ultimate responsibility, it may delegate some of this work.

In addition to their formal duties, PCC members act as representatives for all parishioners in the affairs of the church. Apart from the vicar, who is ex-officio chairman, all PCC members are elected by the parishioners. An Annual Parochial Church Meeting must be held before April 30th each year.[Note for 2020 - the date for this year is 31st October]

All who are on the church's Electoral Roll can attend and may vote for new members of the PCC. They also vote for the Deanery Synod representatives, who become ex-officio PCC members, as do the previously chosen Churchwardens.

The following retired from the PCC as at the APCM held 5th October 2020:

Delia Gillies (Deanery Synod)

Christine Hayler

John Mordaunt

Barbara Trickey

The following were elected at the ACPM:

Peter Berry

Margaret Bond

Sally Clifton

Rowena Martin

Graham Seldon

The PCC members are now:

Revd Chris Lawrence (Vicar and Chairman)

Phil Batchelor

Peter Berry

Magaret Bond

Sally Clifton

Katie Lloyd

Rowena Martin

Freddy Pratt

Barry Richardson (Secretary)

Gaynor Robson (Treasurer)

Graham Seldon

Diana Kentish Barnes was elected as Deanery Synod Representative

[This page last updated 12th Oct 2020]